Were You Injured While Driving Without a License in Texas?
Did you know that unlicensed drivers are responsible for one in every five fatal car crashes in the country? (According to AAA Foundation for Public Safety). Driving without a license is never a good idea, but it happens. If you have been injured while driving without a Texas license, you probably have questions about how driving without a license affects liability for the car accident.
Does Driving Without a License Affect Liability for a Texas Car Accident?
Unlicensed Texas drivers involved in a car accident are not automatically held liable for the incident, although that is the common misconception. However, driving without a license can affect your personal injury claim following a Texas car accident.
What Happens When Unlicensed Texas Drivers Are in a Car Accident?
If you are in a Texas car accident and you are an unlicensed driver, you are not automatically held liable for damages based on the fact that you were driving without a license. Liability for a Texas car accident is determined based on negligence or irresponsible driving. The driver that caused the car accident will typically be held liable, so unless the person driving without a license was also the one that caused the accident, they shouldn’t assume they are liable. However, driving without a license is against the law and does have its own consequences. The unlicensed driver and the owner of the vehicle may face penalties.
What Happens When You Drive Without a License in Texas?
Texas law requires everyone driving a vehicle to have a valid driver’s license. If a driver is discovered driving without a license in Texas, they are breaking the law. First-time offenders may face a fine of up to $200. Third-time offenders may face up to six months in jail and a fine up to $500. When the unlicensed driver causes a car accident, they may be held liable for the cost of any damages, personal injuries, etc. on top of the charges for driving without a license.
If you sustained injuries from a Texas car accident while driving without a license, please contact the Carrollton personal injury lawyers at Hudson Law. We put Personal back into Personal Injury Law.